Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Decomposition of Jack

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Author: Kristin O'Donnell Tubb

Award-winning author Kristin O'Donnell Tubb delivers a funny and poignant middle grade contemporary novel about family and friendship as Jack deals with his parents' divorce while also searching for a mysterious cougar in the Tennessee hills. Perfect for fans of Leslie Connor and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. A Junior Library Guild Selection!

Middle school is always hard, but when you're known as the Roadkill Kid, well, it's even harder. Jack's mom collects roadkill--it's her job, and she's very good at it. Ever since Jack's mom and dad got divorced, Jack has stepped into the role of Mom's co-scientist.

One day while tending to the roadkill garden, Jack believes he spots a cougar in the wilderness beyond his backyard. A cougar in Tennessee? They're supposed to be extinct. So, when Jack has to choose an animal to research for his Earth Science class, he picks cougar.

As pressure mounts on Jack to complete his project and to be Mom's business partner, the mystery of the cougar feels too big to solve. Jack knows what the decomposition of an animal--and a family--looks like, so can he figure out how to bring them back to life?



Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Published: 10/11/2022
Pages: 208
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.65lbs
Size: 8.70h x 5.70w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780063212268
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.1
Point Value: 5
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 516470 / Decomposition of Jack


Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 08/01/2022
Publishers Weekly 09/05/2022
School Library Journal 10/01/2022 pg. 83
Booklist 09/23/2022