Skip to product information
1 of 1

Taking Up Space

Regular price $17.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $17.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Author: Alyson Gerber

From beloved author Alyson Gerber comes another realistic contemporary novel perfect for fans of Judy Blume.

Sarah loves basketball more than anything. Crushing it on the court makes her feel like she matters. And it's the only thing that helps her ignore how much it hurts when her mom forgets to feed her.

But lately Sarah can't even play basketball right. She's slower now and missing shots she should be able to make. Her body doesn't feel like it's her own anymore. She's worried that changing herself back to how she used to be is the only way she can take control over what's happening.

When Sarah's crush asks her to be partners in a cooking competition, she feels pulled in a million directions. She'll have to dig deep to stand up for what she needs at home, be honest with her best friends, and accept that she doesn't need to change to feel good about herself.

Booklist described Gerber's novels in starred reviews as both highly empathetic and truly inspiring. Taking Up Space promises to be a realistic and compelling story about struggling with body image and learning that true self-esteem comes from within.



Publisher: Scholastic Inc.
Published: 05/18/2021
Pages: 272
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.80lbs
Size: 8.40h x 5.60w x 1.20d
ISBN: 9781338186000
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.3
Point Value: 8
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 512310 / Taking Up Space


Review Citation(s):
Publishers Weekly 03/15/2021
Kirkus Reviews 04/01/2021
Booklist 05/01/2021 pg. 48

About the Author
Alyson Gerber is the author of critically acclaimed, own-voices novels Braced and Focused. She is a graduate of The New School's MFA in Writing for Children and lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and daughter. Visit her at alysongerber.com and find her everywhere else at @alysongerber.

Out of Stock?

Most items can be backordered!

If you'd like to place a backorder, click the button below to fill out the item information and we'll create the order for you.

More details on backorders here.

Contact Us