Skip to product information
1 of 1

Shelter

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Author: Christie Matheson

A heart-wrenching middle grade debut that considers homelessness from one girl's perspective and explores deep truths about the resounding impact of empathy. Perfect for fans of One for the Murphys and Paper Things.

Fifth grade can be tough for anyone. There are cliques and mean kids and homework and surprise math tests. But after tragedy strikes her family, almost-eleven-year-old Maya has a painful secret that makes many days feel nearly impossible.

And today might be Maya's toughest yet. Her family is on edge, she needs to travel alone across the city, a bully is out to get her, and Maya has to face this winter's biggest rainstorm without a coat or an umbrella.

But even on the rainiest days, there's hope that the sun will come out soon.

Emotional and compassionate, Shelter looks at homelessness through one girl's eyes and explores the power of empathy, friendship, and love.

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Published: 10/12/2021
Pages: 192
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.50w x 0.90d
ISBN: 9780593376386
Audience: Ages 9-12

Accelerated Reader:
Reading Level: 4.7
Point Value: 5
Interest Level: Middle Grade
Quiz #/Name: 513925 / Shelter


Review Citation(s):
School Library Journal 09/01/2021 pg. 91
Kirkus Reviews 09/01/2021
Bulletin of Ctr for Child Bks 10/01/2021

About the Author
Christie Matheson is the author and illustrator of many picture books, including Tap the Magic Tree, Touch the Brightest Star, and Bird Watch. Shelter is her first novel. She lives in San Francisco with her family. Find her on Instagram at @christiematheson.

Out of Stock?

Most items can be backordered!

If you'd like to place a backorder, click the button below to fill out the item information and we'll create the order for you.

More details on backorders here.

Contact Us