Skip to product information
1 of 1

Rise Up!: How You Can Join the Fight Against White Supremacy

Regular price $19.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $19.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Author: Crystal Marie Fleming

This urgent book explores the roots of racism and its legacy in modern day, all while empowering young people with actionable ways they can help foster a better world and become antiracists.

Why are white supremacists still openly marching in the United States? Why are undocumented children of color separated from their families and housed in cages? Where did racism come from? Why hasn't it already disappeared? And what can young people do about it?

Rise Up! breaks down the origins of racial injustice and its continued impact today, connecting dots between the past and present. By including contemporary examples ripped from headlines and actionable ways young people can help create a more inclusive world, sociologist Crystal Marie Fleming shares the knowledge and values that unite all antiracists: compassion, solidarity, respect, and courage in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Stamped: Remix, This Book is Antiracist, Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy, and The Black Friend.

Praise for Rise Up!

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2021
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2021
A Booklist Editors' Choice Winner for 2021

* A clear and damning appraisal of the United States' long-standing relationship with White supremacy--with actionable advice for readers to do better. --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

* A standout . . . sure to inspire young people to act. --Booklist, starred review

Rise Up! is the invigorating, thought-provoking, eye-opening, and essential book about fighting white supremacy that I wish I had when I was a teen. Crystal M. Fleming writes about tough subjects with authority and compassion, and inspires with a roadmap for how we can change the world for the better. --Malinda Lo, author of Last Night at the Telegraph Club

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company
Published: 10/19/2021
Pages: 256
Binding Type: Hardcover
Weight: 0.80lbs
Size: 9.20h x 6.10w x 1.00d
ISBN: 9781250226389
Audience: Young Adult

Review Citation(s):
Kirkus Reviews 08/01/2021
Booklist 09/15/2021 pg. 45
School Library Journal 10/02/2021 pg. 1
Horn Book Magazine 11/01/2021 pg. 129
Publishers Weekly 10/18/2021 pg. 1

About the Author
Dr. Crystal M. Fleming is an award-winning sociologist and writer. She is Professor of Sociology and Africana Studies at Stony Brook University. Crystal completed her Ph.D. at Harvard University and publishes scholarly research on racial oppression and anti-racism. She is the author of an academic book on race and white supremacy in France, as well as the critically acclaimed How to Be Less Stupid about Race: On Racism, White Supremacy and the Racial Divide. Her work appears in Newsweek, The Root, Huffington Post, and more.

Out of Stock?

Most items can be backordered!

If you'd like to place a backorder, click the button below to fill out the item information and we'll create the order for you.

More details on backorders here.

Contact Us