Skip to product information
1 of 1

Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies

Regular price $16.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $16.99 USD
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Author: Vicky Zimmerman

A can't-miss title for fans of chick lit and modern women's fiction.--Library Journal, STARRED review

An unlikely friendship between two stubborn, lonely souls anchors this big-hearted book and dares us all to ask for more.

When her life falls apart on the eve of her 40th birthday, Kate Parker finds herself volunteering at the Lauderdale House for Exceptional Ladies. There she meets 97-year-old Cecily Finn. Cecily's tongue is as sharp as her mind, but she's fed up with pretty much everything.

Having no patience for Kate's choices in life or love, Cecily prescribes her a self-help book...of sorts. Thought for Food: an unintentionally funny 1950s cookbook high on enthusiasm, featuring menus for anything life can throw at the easily dismayed, such as:

Breakfast with a Hangover

Tea for a Crotchety Aunt

Dinner for a Charming Stranger

As she and Cecily break out of their ruts, Kate will learn far more than recipes.

A feel-good summer read with a wicked sense of humor, Vicky Zimmerman's book will teach you that food is for feasting, friends are for savoring, and the way to a man's heart is...irrelevant.

Fans of Jennifer Weiner, Elin Hildenbrand, and Sophie Kinsella will delight in this recipe for confidence, romance, and fun.

Praise for Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies:

A beautiful, thoughtful read about love, friendship and food with shades of Nora Ephron's Heartburn and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.--Tasmina Perry, international bestselling author of Daddy's Girls

Beautifully written, full of insight and food.--Katie Fforde, bestselling author of A Perfect Proposal

Hungry for a love story with added bite? With deliciously real characters, a sprinkling of humor, a pinch of pathos and huge helping of wisdom, this book has all the ingredients to become this summer's must-read.--Isabelle Broom, bestselling author of One Thousand Stars and You



Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Published: 06/09/2020
Pages: 432
Binding Type: Paperback
Weight: 0.85lbs
Size: 8.20h x 5.40w x 1.30d
ISBN: 9781728210230

Review Citation(s):
Library Journal 04/01/2020 pg. 94
Booklist 05/01/2020 pg. 22

About the Author
Zimmerman, Vicky: - Vicky Zimmerman lives in London. She worked in marketing and as a food tester at a major UK supermarket before leaving to write full-time. She has written for the Guardian and the Observer as well as for women's magazines, specifically on food, body image and dating. Miss Cecily's Recipes for Exceptional Ladies is inspired by her own grandmother's 1950s cookbook.

Out of Stock?

Most items can be backordered!

If you'd like to place a backorder, click the button below to fill out the item information and we'll create the order for you.

More details on backorders here.

Contact Us